General rules and changes
- In Squire, any plainswalker can be your commander.
- Your squire takes up one card from your deck. So Commander + Squire + 98 = 100 cards.
In addition to your commander(s), squire and deck, you also have a 10 card sideboard.
- You can still have partner commanders, 2 Commanders + Squire + 97 = 100 cards.
- Wish-effects can get cards from your sideboard.
- Companions take up one slot from your sideboard.
- Your squire's color identity may only contain 1 color outside of your commander's. If it does it must also share at least 1 color with your Commander's color identity, unless your commander is colorless.
Your squires CMC must be equal or less than the CMC of your commander.
- If your commander is colourless, your squire can be monocoloured, or colorless.
- Your squire can never be fully outside your commanders color identity, meaning if it's not colourless, it has to share a colour with your commander
You may cast any squire from the command zone, if you control that Squire's Commander, and only if you control that Squire's Commander.
Whenever you cast a Squire from the Command zone, its cost is increased by 1 generic mana for each time it has been cast from the Command zone this game by any player.
- When playing with partner commanders, your squires CMC is limited by the more expensive one. Not the combined CMC of your commanders.
Changes to commander damage
- Your squire does not deal commander damage if your commander is a creature.
- If your commander is a planeswalker, your squire deals commander damage.
Poison damage has been raised to 15. This is because you can have up to two creatures that deal infect damage on the command zone.
- This damage is separate from your commander though. So if your planeswalker turns into a creature somehow, the damage doesn't add up.
- Check the squire banlist
- Gold-bordered and oversized cards are legal.
- Oversized cards are only allowed as commanders.
- If an oversized card would move to your library, it moves to the command zone instead.